Well, yesterday I slipped. I went to the Glebe Farmer’s market and ended up coming home with two new skeins of locally sourced wool…

The Log House CottageIMG_3566

The Log House Cottage is a farm located just South of Ottawa in North Gower. They produce hand-dyed yarns, such as silk, merino-bamboo, baby camel, and highland wool. Their yarn is absolutely stunning. The colours are vibrant and the yarn is soft. I bought a skein of their Monster Ball (chunky Highland wool, 470 m) in blues and greens. This skein should knit/weave up a few decent projects!

The Milkhouse Dairy and FarmIMG_3567
The Milkhouse Dairy and Farm is located in Smiths Falls, Ontario. They produce farmstead sheeps’ milk cheeses, grass-fed lamb, and all-natural wool products. Their wool is sourced from their flock of British Milk Sheep, and they offer their 2- and 3-ply yarns in a lovely natural/undyed  hue. Excited to work with this wool! It’s so nice knowing where your yarn comes from when you’re knitting or weaving. I mean look at these cuties!

lambs

Again, I’m not sure what I’ll do with these new additions yet, but I’m already crafting plans for a new weaving that is blue, green and white! It’ll be fun to see what these skeins turn into.

But really… no more new additions after this…

